Update a Deployment

On this page

If your deployment is not running the latest version of FusionAuth, you may update to a newer version. We recommend running the latest released version of FusionAuth for access to the latest fixes, security updates, and features.

However, you will not be forced to update on a certain schedule. Updates are optional and controlled by you.

The update process described in this section updates the version of FusionAuth; for help modifying other attributes of your deployment, such as the region, the deployment size, or the service tier, see Alter a Deployment.

Update Process#

Caution

You cannot downgrade a FusionAuth Cloud deployment version. After an update, you can only roll back to a backup of an earlier version. This permanently loses any new or changed user or configuration data since the backup.

Please test updates before performing them on your production system.

To update a deployment from version 1.x-1 to version 1.x:

  1. Test 1.x on a staging or development environment.
  2. Select a time that works for your users, your team, and your applications.
  3. Log into your account at account.fusionauth.io.
  4. Record the time you began the update.
  5. Navigate to the Hosting tab. Manage the deployment, then choose the Upgrade option. Select 1.x from the Version dropdown.
  6. Confirm you want to start the update.
  7. After confirmation, the deployment will enter an Upgrading state until finished. To monitor the update, navigate to the Hosting tab. To programmatically monitor the update, call the System Status API.
  8. Your update is complete when the user interface deployment has a status of Active, or when the System Status API returns success.

Update Duration#

This update process takes between 5 and 60 minutes. The exact duration of system downtime depends on the type of deployment, amount of data in your system, and database changes required by the version update.

Hosting Option Duration of Update Expected Downtime
Basic Cloud 5 to 60 minutes 5 to 60 minutes
Business Cloud 5 to 60 minutes 5 to 60 minutes
HA Cloud 5 to 60 minutes seconds

HA systems have significantly lower downtime during an update because the system has two or more nodes. We update these one at a time, so they continue to receive traffic throughout the update.

Update Considerations#

Consult the relevant release notes for functional changes. Such changes may require updates or modifications to your code, whether to take advantage of new features or, occasionally, to handle changes in FusionAuth functionality.

Due to the downtime, it is recommended that you schedule the update for a low traffic period. Test the update process on development or test servers first.

Roll Back to a Backup#

Business and High Availability deployments retain backups for 30 days after an update. Basic deployments do not retain backups.

If an update is problematic, and you identify the issue during the timeframe of your plan's backup retention period, open a support ticket, including the following information:

  • The version from which you were updating. This will be the version of your restored instance.
  • The approximate time the update began, including timezone, so that the correct backup can be restored.

Both production and non-production environments can be rolled back if on a plan with backups.

Production rollbacks will be treated the same as a production outage.

Non-production rollbacks will be completed within two business days, and will be handled during normal FusionAuth business hours (9am-5pm Mountain time, Monday-Friday). Non-production rollbacks will not be treated as a production outage.

All rollbacks will have data loss; the amount of data loss depends on when the update began and when the rollback was requested.